Why I Support Karen Lang for West Valley City Mayor

Posted: September 12, 2013 in elections, Friends, Optimism, Personal, Politics, West Valley City
Tags: , , ,

I recently moved to West Valley City from Salt Lake City. I have been involved in politics out here for a very long time. When I moved, I looked to stay involved. By chance, I was able to meet Council Member Karen Lang, who represents the 3rd District in the city. She was running for West Valley City Mayor, and had just learned that she had passed the primary, and was getting ready to start her drive towards the general election. I was immediately impressed with her intelligence and grasp of the issues. West Valley City has some unique challenges. It is currently Utah’s second largest city. It also has one of the most diverse populations. They really need someone with the passion and compassion of Ms. Lang, to help support the many changes going on in it’s diverse community.

Karen Lang has been a small business owner for many years. She understands what it’s like to be a working wife, mom, grandmother, and neighbor. Her husband Brian, as well as her children, were all educated in WVC. She served for 10 years on the Planning Commission, before being elected to the City Council. She is the owner of Oakbridge Greenhouse in the city. And, she may be the best prepared, most non-partisan person, I have ever had the privilege to know. in this race, in this city, that is very important.

I don’t agree with her on all the issues, but I agree with her on the most important ones. I can give my wholehearted support to Karen Lang for WVC Mayor. I urge all my friends, and more importantly, my fellow Democrats, to give their support to the best candidate, Karen Lang.

Leave a Reply

