I’m Very Good at Tying Knots…

Posted: January 26, 2013 in Diabetes, Health, Heart, Humility, Inspiration, Meditation, Music

I’m very good at tying knots…at least tying myself in knots. I recently was revisited by my old friend chest pains. This time it was a bit more serious. I had been hiding a lot of stress and not having anything that could release it. My exercise was near zero, my meditation habits were poor,  I even had stopped listening to and enjoying music! Even those closest to me had noticed how stiff and rigid I had become.

Needless to say, my doctor was less then thrilled with me. Once again, I was reminded sternly that I was “a walking heart attack and if I don’t change I will be dead in six months!” I think that scared me more then the physical things.

I am now reminded that I need to take things less seriously. It was such an interesting 2012, with so many highs and lows, that I had forgotten what in between felt like. It seems like I have been living my life for the high and low moments. I need to find that proper balance and also do better about letting my stress go. Shouting if I need to, exercising more regularly, writing more often. Sometimes, it’s ok to be angry, it’s ok to be sad, it’s ok to be happy.

I wise friend and mentor used to tell me all the time, “Craig, don’t take things so fucking seriously”. This was usually said in times of great stress.  I need to return to that advice.

Comments
  1. michele says:

    Man oh man…..take a step back once in a while and enjoy how far you’ve come. Take a chilllaxative. And don’t wait till you blog about it to tell us how stressed you are!!! Reach out to your friends before it gets to that point mister.

  2. Susan Booth says:

    You better start taking things less seriously, Mister! You are an amazing person and a wonderful friend. Delegate some of this burdon and stress. There are so many of us that love and care about you. Got it? No more knot tying, though….

Leave a Reply

