It’s funny how procrastination can be most people’s undoing. I know I have fallen victim to this…more than once! We always seem to be our own worst enemy when it comes to starting or finishing projects…no matter how important they are. Even writing this I have found a couple of things come up that have slowed me down! Not even important things either…something on TV or someone’s post on Facebook.

One of my favorite books is “The World According to Garp” by John Irving. In the book, TS Garp was a novelist, who at one point stopped writing. After announcing that he was going to start again, he kept making excuses to put it off. He was always building bookshelves or working in the garden.

When I worked with people who said they wanted to start their own business or make extra money, they number one thing they said was holding them back was that they had to make sure that everything was perfect. They had to clear space, they had to make sure that everything was perfect before they could take action. We all know that opportunity rarely comes at an opportune time. When opportunity knocks, we must not only open the door, but invite opportunity in and fix it a drink! Be prepared to take action because you never know when opportunity will come around again.

No bookshelves or gardens for now…it is time to take action!

Comments
  1. Anita says:

    Building bookshelves…I like that way of thinking about it. I tend to find many other excuses to keep me from going in the direction I want/need to go. It’s hard to not want to make sure everything is “perfect” before starting on new venture…I know my “fear” of failure keeps me from going for it at times. Thanks for the reminder to “take action”….keep the posts coming.

Leave a Reply

