I love this time of year in Salt Lake City. The weather is usually pretty good, which means lots to do outside! Lots of outdoor concerts, celebrations, Farmer’s Markets, and just lots of fun. This past weekend was the perfect way to kick of a summer of fun.

It started Friday night when after work I went down to Living Traditions in downtown Salt Lake City. It is this huge, 3-day festival to celebrate the diversity in the city. Now, I know diversity and Salt Lake City is not something that usually goes hand in hand, but the amount of different cultures represented is incredible. Different food, crafts, and music/dance from the different cultures. Once a year I indulge in a Chorizo sausage sandwich from the Basque region of Spain. The taste is something I really enjoy!

Saturday after work, it was time for the Festival of Roses. This is a fund raiser for the local Catholic Church. Again, the food was incredible! The Knights of Columbus, which my grandfather once led, cooked up a great steak sandwich that was covered in onions and peppers. It was huge and incredible! But the real reason for my participation at the time I went, was to see a great local band, Urban Bleu. Now I have written about them before but never had the chance to see them and speak with them until that day. What a fun time! I am including a video from a previous performance for you to enjoy. If you get the chance, please go see them, you won’t be disappointed!

Now Sunday, it was time to go back to Living Traditions to see the legendary blues harmonica player and singer Charlie Musselwhite. I have enjoyed his music for years. He is a member of the Blues Hall of Fame and has been recording since 1960. He has played with almost all of the legendary blues performers of his time. He also was in the movie “Blues Brothers 2000” as part of the all-star band at the end of the movie. What a thrill it was to see him live!

After the concert, it was time to head to the Gateway Mall to see the solar eclipse. What a spectacular show that mother nature put on. And it was the perfect end to a great weekend!

Comments
  1. I miss reading your blogs! Well done- makes me wish I knew this city as well as you do.

Leave a Reply

