#DBlogWeek – What They Should Know…

Posted: May 18, 2012 in American Diabetes Association, Courage, Diabetes, Health, Humility, Inspiration, Personal
Tags: , ,

The topic today is what I want people to know about how living with diabetes affects me. That is such a difficult subject for me. I think there is so much that people should know. I guess the best place to start is with the physical things that I feel. The biggest for me right now is that my feet are numb…I feel…but everything is tingly. I also battle with keeping my blood sugar regulated…I sometimes just feel lousy! Dizzy, light-headed, and sometimes just having that sick feeling.

I think that’s the easy part. The hard part is the depression. I can’t eat what I want (but sometimes still do). I tend to binge eat, which makes me more depressed. My weight yo-yo’s…always going up and down. My schedule makes it difficult to exercise or eat properly…which makes matters worse! I was told originally that depression goes hand in hand with diabetes…I do have people that I talk to…but just understand that sometimes I just don’t feel good!

I guess the best thing I can tell everyone is to really watch what they eat and to get lots of exercise. Especially my friends who have “reached a certain age”. Get checked if you have any symptoms of this horrible disease. And really educate yourself.

Comments
  1. Donna Heit says:

    Good advice, Craig. I get checked every year because I am borderline. I think if we surround ourselves with good healthy vegetables and fruit every day and cut it up and prepare it in the morning then our chances are much better of eating healthy thoughout the day. I know for myself, I used to do this but get lazy or not motivated to make better choices. I try to tell myself it’s about choices. We are not always going to eat perfect but we can make better choices and put some effort into it.

Leave a Reply

