#DBlogWeek – My Fantasy Diabetes Device…

Posted: May 17, 2012 in American Diabetes Association, Diabetes, Friends, Health, Inspiration, Optimism, Personal
Tags: , , , ,

Today’s #DBlogWeek topic is what would be the one device I would like to see to help with diabetes control. This is an easy one…and one I’m sure will be repeated over and over for this topic: a way to check your blood glucose without drawing blood.

I have actually given this a lot of thought over the past couple of years. I think I would like to see a device like a wristwatch. The face of it…instead of the time…tells you what your level is. And then when you got within five of a preset parameter either way, the “clock” would start to beep to give you a warning. That way, you can take appropriate measures before you hit the critical stage. And they could be fashionable as well…different color bands and shapes for every occasion. Can you imagine what you would save in money on test strips alone! A lot of non-diabetics don’t realize how expensive those little strips are. The device could pay for itself in a very short time!

I really have gotten to the point where pricking the finger a few times a day doesn’t bother me so much. I have the little hole marks all over the tips of my fingers to show. Also, a couple of blood stains on various things in the bathroom…which is where I test. But if I could invent one thing to help all diabetics, it would be that. Until then, keep checking everyone!

Comments
  1. Sysy says:

    This would be awesome. And you’re right, it would definitely pay for itself in no time! I want one.

  2. Mrs. Harer says:

    There actually was a device on the market a few years ago called the GlucoWatch, that did exactly what you described. But I guess there were major issues with it and it was pulled off the market.

Leave a Reply

