The topic for today is what I do well with my diabetes control. Wow! What a tough subject for me. I guess if there is one think that I really do well it would be that I have learned to recognize the signs of when I am doing well or not.

When my blood glucose level is high…it gives some obvious (to me) signs. My levels generally run from 70 – 130. That’s really good since when I was diagnosed I was averaging over 220 and when I got sick a couple of months ago I was at 230+! The feelings I get now when I am over 150, really makes me wonder how I survived feeling that way 24/7! It’s hard to believe that I went that long feeling lousy!

I guess if there is one piece of advice that I can give people it would be to have yearly physicals that include getting your a1c checked. With Type-2 Diabetes reaching almost epidemic numbers in this country, it is important to really monitor that. Also eat better! My big curse is the convenience of fast food. With my job and being single, it is much easier to pick up a burger than to come home and cook for one. That is something that I will always struggle with.

And now I have found another thing that I am good at…helping others avoid this!

Have a great week!

Comments
  1. Kelly Booth says:

    Picking up a burger on the way is the easier way, but as you know, not the best. Been there, done that! I used to always say I would cook ahead and then just reheat stuff but that never lasted very long.

Leave a Reply

