Fingertips of Steel…

Posted: April 26, 2012 in American Diabetes Association, Diabetes, Health, Personal
Tags: , , , ,

As a diabetic, I have developed “fingertips of steel”. If you don’t understand that, it refers to the method that we test our blood glucose levels…usually several times a day. We get to draw a drop of blood…put it on a very expensive test strip….and have a meter tell us our level.

Currently, I am doing this twice a day…once in the morning…and once in the evening. For whatever reason, I tend to use the same finger the large majority of the time…my right index. Sometimes, I will use the middle finger, and very rarely may use one of the others. But it is almost always the right index. I have all of these tiny little holes all over it. Believe it or not, it rarely hurts anymore, and I’m one that hates pain. It’s such an unnatural act…for me anyways.

I went through a long period of time when I didn’t check the levels…I think I just didn’t want to know! I now check twice a day…morning and night. My levels run form 65 to 125…which is great for me! I still have times when I’m either too high or too low. I’m back to being able to physically tell so I can take corrective measures.

I never thought that I would be one that could poke myself…I hate needles. Now it just seems like part of my normal day. It rarely hurts anymore…and usually doesn’t bleed too much…so it is not as bad as it used to be. I would be interested in hearing from others with diabetes about what they go through…as well as others that have a medical routine that they never thought they could do.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    I try to test at least once a day… but it still hurts me!! I put it off sometimes for two reasons. I hate the pain and I really don’t like seeing the numbers… My blood sugar seems to run an average of 160…. too high. Congrats on yours being under control!

  2. lovehatediabetes says:

    I’m Type 1, and I test at least six times a day. It’s crazy what my fingers feel like and look like. They’re hard, rough, holy (holes, not actually holy, ha), and gross looking. I am insulin dependent, so my stomach has quite a few needle poke spots. They sometimes get red, a little bump, and every once in a while I get a welt.
    Diabetes is not fun when it comes to poking.

  3. julie says:

    I have had to give my self shots for a week yes it didn’t hurt much just turned black and blue it was gross I hated it not diabetic but still have to get blood test once a month I can’t imagine it twice a day so I can be suportive that way it’s better then the alternative.

Leave a Reply

