I think it all becomes a matter of how you look at things. If you focus always on the negative in life you tend to get that. This seems to the case whether I am at work or just chatting with friends on Facebook. There is so much hate and venom in the world right now. It seems that for a lot of people, it is easier to focus on all the bad, instead of talking about the good, or finding common ground to build on. Why else do you think this country is such a mess? You have two opposing sides who really don’t care about you…all they are interested in is winning the next election. Do you really think they care about your job more than their own? Then…if they feel like they need more help…they will outright lie.

I have found that I have been sucked into this debate too many times, including about my own health. I get caught in that trap of how bad things are, that we can’t see the good in life. Sometimes I become a person who becomes defined by what I have instead of who I am. My doctor..who is wonderful…told me that, unless I get hit by a bus, or have something tragic happen, I will die from Diabetes. He meant that if I didn’t change my ways, I would have a shorter life. From that moment I was dying from Diabetes. I let that define who I was.

Now, I feel like I am a person who has Diabetes. It’s a part of me, but isn’t who I am. I am many things. I am a father, a brother, a grandson, a cousin, an uncle, a friend, I am Hispanic, a salesman, a sports fan, a music lover. I am even so much more than that. I am different things to different people. I embrace each aspect of my life and try to be a better person.

On my main page of this blog, I put that I am a work in progress. Each day, I try to learn a little more about myself and grow. I couldn’t begin to make up for the people I have hurt and the wrong that I have done. All I can do is be a better me. I can’t change my past…but I can make a better future…not just for myself…but for those around me. We all can.

Comments
  1. bettiebelle says:

    Craig, I LOVE this post. It screams positivity. You seem to have come a long way. Great!

  2. Really good post! I’m really competitive and when I get home from the gym I used to tell my wife that I need to train harder to be better than someone there! 2 weeks ago she said to me I shouldn’t say that! I should strive to be the best version of myself!

  3. njeriwaweru says:

    Reblogged this on njeriwaweru and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  4. Julie says:

    Very well said Craig!! 🙂

  5. Great post, Craig!! Definitely a complete change from last week. It is remarkable how many of your thoughts about the way things are in the world are the same as mine. Maybe that is what brought us together as friends some 30+ years ago. So good to hear you are in a better place, my friend.

  6. Lisa Craig says:

    Fabulous post, Craig. We are who we are, and we are where we are at any given time. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other, and keep that positive attitude going. You’re perfectly you, Craig!

  7. njeriwaweru says:

    I wanted the people visiting my wall to learn from your blog ,in my country its an elections year i think its the same the world over ,they discuss your life as though they are in charge of your life as well

Leave a Reply

