So…Just a Quick Health Update…

Posted: March 27, 2012 in American Diabetes Association, Diabetes, Health, Personal

So…just a quick health update…I went to see my doctor on Monday. Surprisingly, he didn’t yell at me. My A1C…that measures blood glucose level over a 3-month period…was just 7.2…which isn’t that bad! Not great, but not terrible. He made sure I had the meds I needed and we discussed some lifestyle changes…but it was almost pleasant.

One not so good thing though…He is very concerned about my heart. As I posted a few months ago…I had a nice 8 hour visit to the ER with chest pains. It was eventually diagnosed as pleurisy. My doctor is concerned because of the ongoing problems I have with dizziness, shortness of breath, and chest pains. So…I get a nice trip to the hospital’s cardiac unit to see the cardiologist.

I can’t express enough how important it is that all of you take care of yourself. Life is short enough to begin with…we don’t have to make it shorter. Savor each moment! Live passionately! Love all! Make a difference in someone else’s life.

Comments
  1. Lisa Nielsen says:

    That’s such good news! Take care of yourself.

  2. mamakin143 says:

    Pleurisy thankfully is easy to manage. It’s the lining of the lungs that become inflamed, Viral infection is the most common cause, but it sure hurts when you cough. As for Cardiac problems I spent many years dealing with my Pops. He had a heart attack in 93, then he passed away in 96 from a second heart attack due to Congenital heart disease. He had Arrhythmia as well as his heart being twice the size of a normal heart. He was 6’3 and about 180 pounds. So not fat. I have always struggled with my weight. I think I inherited that from my moms side of the family.Thankfully I am doing better health wise since I moved down here and have a more active life and better physician than I did in Salt Lake. You will do fine now that you know what not to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

