Just When You Get Comfortable….

Posted: March 23, 2012 in American Diabetes Association, Diabetes, Health, Humility, Personal
Tags: ,

Just when I thought I was getting comfortable and happy in life…the world decided to test me. I have been going along feeling really good, when I started getting a headache and feeling a little fluish. Yesterday, I was feeling really run down and decided to test my blood sugar for the first time in awhile. As I have written before, I have type-2 diabetes. Well, I was being cocky lately…feeling like I could eat whatever I wanted…not exercising enough…not taking my meds…well…you get the picture. Needless to say, my blood sugar was at 238! And that was a fasting level. Usually for me it’s between 90-120. I actually got down to 122 late in the day, but by night was back over 200. At 1 am it was at 218! So, I am hospital bound this morning. Not sure what they will say but call me a dumbass. The moral of this story is…not matter how happy you are and how good you feel, it is still important to take care of yourself!

I appreciate the friends that have always stood by me through the good and the bad. It gives me a good feeling knowing that I matter and that I am cared about. The joy I have felt in the last little while has really been incredible! I hope that you continue to stand by me as I battle this last little bump in the road. I know my “happily ever after” is out there…

UPDATE: Just got back from the Instacare and was yelled at for my lack of attention to my condition. I’m sure on Monday I will hear it from my doctor as well. Got meds…will rest this weekend…will mend my evil ways. Thanks for all your concern!

Comments
  1. Sigh…. I know all too well how easy it is to put your own health behind all sorts of things. I am glad you went and got help. Let them yell, try not to beat yourself up to much .

  2. Lisa Craig says:

    Yikes, Craig! You have to take care of yourself. I don’t know what Type 2 Diabetes feels like. But, I do know it can be serious business. My father has it. You have to be careful.
    I am glad that you’re okay and that you had a scare that will slap you and make you pay attention again. Please be careful.

    Hugs. Lisa

  3. mamakin143 says:

    Diabetes is hard to manage. It’s a disease that requires watching what we eat. Even when we change our diet our glucose levels can and do become erratic. If we eat too much it gets high, if we don’t eat enough it plummets. When I was first diagnosed with it I was 145 pounds and not even 30 yet. I had been heavy before that, and due to the prescriptions I have to take the weight is hard to manage. Type 1, and Type 2 run on both sides of my family It’s evil, and I hate that I have lost so much of my sight. I wish you luck Craig!

  4. The Sugar Files says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I just went through something similar and my sugar levels went up. I was reminded that diabetes is like driving a car, you can’t take your eyes off the road or your bound to hit something. I’m a type 2 diabetic as well and it does take dedication and effort to stay in a normal range. To good health!

  5. lovehatediabetes says:

    Definitely not a dumbass! It’s hard to always be in control of yourself – especially when there’s a cookie RIGHT there.

Leave a Reply

