Im Back….

Posted: October 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

I took a little time off from writing to recover and watch. Let’s see what we missed…

 

We have the OccupyWallStreet going on…as part of that, we have an OccupySLC as well. I have to laugh at the people who consider themselves Conservative who say that what the protesters are doing is Un-American. This country was founded by protest. They are doing the most American thing possible! The right to protest is not only their right, but also their responsibility. I love how they have taken a page from Conservative legislators…make outrageous demands and then negotiate from there. Whether or not you agree with the protests, or the demands, any intelligent person would have to acknowledge their right to protest peacefully. Peaceful protests are as American as apple pie. I didn’t like that the “teabaggers” disrupted town hall meetings, but certainly they had the right to do it. Conservatives…you can’t have it both ways! So shut the hell up!

 

Moving along…We had an early snow here inUtah. I don’t know why this would surprise anyone. We live in the mountains! It does snow here…lots. I hated it but we know that the weather will change in the next couple of days and the sun will be out. I guess my biggest complaint is the people who act like it is their first time in the snow. Drive safe! On my way to work yesterday, with crappy wet weather, I watched a car weave all over the road. When we caught up to her, she was busy texting someone! This was while traveling at a high rate of speed! Morons!

 

And now back to politics…As I type this, the Republican dominated legislature is trying to gerrymander the Democrats out of existence here inUtah. It is so obvious what they are doing. Now keep in mind it is dominated by white LDS men (and a handful of women). Now the church that I grew up in didn’t condone lying…admit what you’re doing and move on. I think the thing that bothers me most is all the work is done behind closed doors. The work of the people needs to be done in front of the people. The belief that you are a corrupt body comes from the fact that you give the people that perception. The old picture of “back room deals” is very much alive inUtah. I love that the Democratic chair called on people to bring flashlights to the capitol to let some light on the proceedings!

 

And finally…thanks to all of you that wished me well when I was sick and recovering. I truly love all of you…especially the ones I argue with most! I am doing much better, but it certainly scared the heck out of me. I thought I was looking at heart surgery. I thank the good Lord for my blessings and for all my wonderful friends!

Comments

Leave a Reply

