Sometimes less is more…

Posted: September 27, 2011 in Personal, talking

“He who talks much cannot talk well.”       Carlo Goldoni

Have you noticed that people, myself included, get in more trouble by opening their mouth? I work at a job where I talk for a living. But even with that, sometime the less said and explained is better. Yes I do love the sound of my own voice. And yes, I have moments when I am pretty knowledgeable about the subject I am talking about. But still, you ever listen to someone and you feel like saying “Please stop why you are way behind.”

My favorite people are the ones who know everything. I sometimes fall into that. A little over explaining or too much information makes me cringe but I still do it as well. Of course, there are those that have no clue what they are talking about. Then it’s just noise…and annoying. People love the sound of their noise. That’s when I look for the hammer…for me as much as them. My favorite thing to say to them is “I am not that much less intelligent from having to listen to you say that.”

So…having said all that…have a great Tuesday!

Comments
  1. What is the saying? It is better to be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove ALL doubt. I hear something familiar here. I like to consider myself somewhat intuitive about human nature- but I agree there is something to choosing words carefully, and sparingly as well, perhaps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

