A Brief Political Rant…

Posted: September 22, 2011 in Conservative, Liberal, Personal, Politics

Politics, it seems to me, for years, or all too long, has been concerned with right or left instead of right or wrong.  ~Richard Armour

I am definitely on the left side of the political spectrum. But lately, I seem to be a little embarrassed by what is happening in our country. Our government now days seems to be less about fixing the problem and more about blaming the other guy so we can win an election. When the top Republican in the Senate says their number one priority is to make sure the President doesn’t get another term, I say we really aren’t too concerned about fixing the problems that we face.

I will always champion liberal ideas. I believe in equal rights for all. I believe that everyone has the right to the same freedoms. If a gay couple wants to marry or adopt, I say good for them. If a woman chooses to have an abortion, then it is her right to choose. I believe in welfare to those that deserve it. I believe in equal pay for equal work.

Mostly, I believe in the human spirit. Times are tough. But, we will endure.

Politicians are people who, when they see light at the end of the tunnel, go out and buy some more tunnel.  ~John Quinton

Leave a Reply

