Humility

Posted: September 19, 2011 in Ben Franklin, Humility, Personal

I love saying that I don’t know everything, just more than anyone else. I think those that know me realize that I have a dry sense of humor, and understand that I don’t really believe that. The simple truth is that I don’t have all the answers. Some days my own life is so out of control that I just want to pull the covers over my head and wait for another day. But life goes on.

Something I do know is that no one person has all the answers. Those that are really successful are usually the ones that are humble enough to realize that. It is possible for ego and humility to coexist. There are a lot of subjects that I know a lot about. Some, I know more about than most people I know. But, there are many subjects I really am ignorant on. I will never claim to know very much about cars. Or anything mechanical for that matter outside of simple maintenance. I was never taught and to be honest, I’m probably not going to learn.

One thing I do know is that I don’t know everything that I don’t know. I wrote in my profile that this blog, and my life, is a work in progress. When I find something that interests me I attack it from all angles. I learn everything I can about it. I love to learn…when I’m interested.

Another thing I know is you have to be humble. I don’t have all the answers and neither does any one person. We all must work together to exist in this crazy world and we do that by opening our minds and hearts to solutions and ideas. Let me quote Ben Franklin:

“A man wrapped up in himself makes a very small bundle.”

Comments
  1. Very well written Craig. I believe that being humble and being teachable go hand in hand. As you said no one knows everything and if we are not humble we will lose out on learning the things we don’t know. Once again, thank you for sharing.

    • Jody says:

      Humility also makes life exciting. It gives us that zest for learning and reaching out to others for help.

      I love you honey and love learning new things with you. Thanks for helping me with the little annoyances that I don’t know how to do nor do I want to.

      XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

