Priorities

Posted: September 14, 2011 in Gale Sayers, gale sayers and brian piccolo, Inspiration, Phil Skinner

Anyone that is around my age certainly remembers seeing the movie “Brian’s Song”. It was the story of Chicago Bears teammates Gale Sayers and Brian Piccolo. During their brief careers together, they were paired as  black/white roommates. Their is some confusion on my part as to whether they were the first multi-racial roommates in the NFL or just on the Bears. Of course, the movie is “based on a true story” and not completely accurate. The movie was based on Sayers’ autobiography “I Am Third”. Years after the movie, I read the book and was intrigued by the title. Sayers explains it this way:

God is first, my family and friends are second, and I am third.

Very powerful. How many of us put other priorities in front of the first two?  I had already planned this for my blog when I saw a Facebook post this morning from my good friend and brother from another mother, Phil Skinner:

Imagine juggling some five balls in the air.- Work – Family – Health – Friends – Spirit
Work is a rubber ball. If you drop it, it will bounce back. But the other four balls – family, health, friends and spirit are made of glass.
If you drop one of these, they will be irrevocably scuffed, marked, nicked, damaged or even shattered. Remember what is important not to drop. 

I have been guilty of putting in too much time at work at neglecting other more important priorities. How many of us tend to put work and own personal accomplishments and glory in front of the really important things in life?

Comments
  1. Really good thought here. We should ALL try a little harder to serve comon goals, and greater good. I love to carry this sort of message into my heart and let it bubble up in action! Thank you for being a friend and teacher.

Leave a Reply

